Super Easy Vegetable Stir-Fry

This is the second time in three days I’m making this recipe. The first time was on Sunday but I couldn’t take pictures then because as soon as I was done making it What Would Ryan Lochte Do? was about to premiere and I wasn’t about to miss any minute of his dreamy abs and eyes to take pictures of food, “nuh uhn”.  To be honest, I just really, really, really  like Ryan Lochte. Anyways, enough on that. This recipe is super easy and can be made in under 30 minutes, including prep time! I’m a sucker for quick meals, especially for lunch so I can throw something together in between classes or if I’m in a hurry to get somewhere. This recipe is great because there aren’t any measurements. You really can use as much or as little of whatever ingredient based on what you like, or how many servings you need to make.  I’m really tooting my own horn here, aren’t I ? But it’s okay, is it ? I like to steam my broccoli before I stir-fry it but that’s just me, so feel free to skip this step.

Vegetable Stir-Fry

Ingredients:

  • Broccoli florets
  • Boneless Chicken Breast
  • Mushrooms
  • Carrots, diced
  • Red Bell Pepper
  • Garlic (1 clove), minced
  • 1/4 small Onion, diced
  • Ginger
  • Red Pepper Flakes
  • Salt and Pepper to taste
  • Olive Oil

 IMG_1778

Instructions: Bring some water to boil in a saucepan. Place broccoli in a steamer basket and set it on the pot. Cover the pot with its lid; reduce the heat to medium-high and let cook for 5-6 minutes. While the broccoli is steaming, we’ll prep the other ingredients. So dice your carrots, onion, and bell pepper. And mince your garlic too! Also, cut chicken strips into small cubes. Then, in a large sauce pan drizzle some olive oil and add the onions, garlic, and mushrooms. Cook on medium heat for 2-3 minutes. Add chicken, and turn up the heat a little bit. Season liberally with salt, pepper, red pepper flakes, and ginger. Stir continuously for 5 minutes. Add the remaining ingredients and the heat down slightly and cook for another 3-5 minutes. Now, taste a piece of broccoli or something and determine if you need to season it a bit more; you’ll probably need to. So, season to taste and toss the vegetables around in the pan for another minute or so and then enjoy!

IMG_1784

 

Leave a Reply

