Banana Nutella Swirl Muffins

50626

Oops. I’ve been away a while. I’ve been on a bit of a holiday and I’ve really been bogged down by uni work. Warning: Fan girl mode is about to be activated. I got this recipe from my all time favourite blogger Rosie, of The Londoner. In a parallel universe, Rosie and I are best of friends but I digress. Here’s the recipe and here’s a tip: when you add the nutella to the mix in the baking tray make sure to swirl them well enough (but not completely so the nutella isn’t fully integrated) or else you wouldn’t have much of a swirling action going on and you’ll ended up with divided muffins as did I.

Banana Nutella Swirl Muffins

Ingredients:

  • 1 3/4 cups all-purpose flour
  • 3/4 cup sugar
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 2 large eggs, lightly beaten
  • 1 stick of unsalted butter
  • 3 large very ripe bananas, mashed
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla extract
  • 2 tbsp Nutella, at room temperature

Directions:

Pre-heat your oven to 350° and line your muffin tins with paper liners (I decided to take off the paper liners for pictures because I didn’t like the way they looked). In a large bowl, combine flour, sugar and salt. In another, combine eggs, butter, mashed bananas and vanilla. Next, gradually fold in the first mixture into the second. Rosie advices that your batter should be “thoroughly mixed, but still lumpy and utterly hideous” because a smooth batter makes a horrible banana bread and I agree! Transfer batter to muffin tins, filling each about half way. Drop 1/2 – 3/4 teaspoon of Nutella onto the centre of each muffin and swirl using a cocktail stick. And Repeat! Bake for 20-25 mins, and a toothpick inserted into the centre of a muffin should come out clean!

67004

I didn’t want to eat too many, so my flat mates and I had a couple each and planned to share the rest with our other friends. Let’s just say not everyone got their muffins. Oops ?

2 thoughts on “Banana Nutella Swirl Muffins

Leave a Reply

