Garlic Mashed Potatoes and Stir Fry Chicken

DSC_0333

I’ve had this domain for about three weeks now and I’ve been hesitant to publish my first post. I keep making excuses for why a particular post should not be my debut. Each time, I decide the story, recipe, pictures, or whatever it may be is not perfect enough. Today was no exception; I felt the stir fried chicken could have been better but then I decided no more excuses. In the morning when I got back from the gym, I had my usual Maple & Brown Sugar Oatmeal. I had decided earlier while on the treadmill to make the broccoli and cheese twice baked potatoes that I had made on a whim last week and loved after seeing a picture on twitter, for lunch. Somehow, I ended up making garlic mashed potatoes and stir fry chicken. I added some steamed broccoli for good measure. I chopped the broccoli because I had initially planned on mashing them in with the potatoes but I changed my mind. Also, this was my first time making mashed potatoes but here goes.

I made just enough for one and I used:

  • 5 baby golden potatoes
  • 1 garlic clove, peeled and thinly sliced
  • ½ tablespoon butter
  • 3 tablespoons of milk
  • Salt and Pepper to taste

Directions:

Peel and cube the potatoes. Put them in a pot with salt and enough water to cover. Peel and slice the garlic and also add it to the pot. If you do not have fresh garlic, a teaspoon of garlic powder can be substituted. Bring to a boil. Reduce heat and simmer for 15 minutes or until the potatoes are easily mashed with a fork. Drain. Add the remaining ingredients and mash using a potato masher or a fork until smooth. Season with salt and pepper to taste. Done!

The stir fry chicken was basically an amalgamation of salt, pepper, ginger, garlic, and chilli powder. In retrospect I feel as though I should have added a splash of soy sauce.

Ingredients:

  • Boneless chicken breast, sliced
  • ¼ of an onion
  • ¼ of a red bell pepper
  • 1 teaspoon olive oil
  • ½ teaspoon of ginger, garlic
  • Dash of chilli powder/red pepper flakes
  • Salt and Pepper
  • ½ – 1 tablespoon of low sodium soy sauce (optional)

Directions:

Chop the onion and red bell pepper into small cubes. Sautée the onions over medium heat with olive oil until almost soft. Add in the red bell pepper and cook for another two minutes continuously stirring. Add the chicken and turn the heat to medium-high. Add spices and stir fry while continuously stirring. (This is where I would have added the soy sauce had I thought of it then, so feel free to include ½ – 1 tablespoon of soy sauce now). When the chicken is almost cooked reduce heat so red peppers and onions do not burn, while still continuously stirring. Done!

Enjoy ♥

p.s. my photography is a work in progress

Leave a Reply

